Skip to main content
Thumbnail for A history of Murston

A history of Murston

Clark, Bryan, 1937-2011
Books
'Murston From Old Photographs' offers a captivating glimpse into the history of Murston, providing the reader with a visual representation of the suburb's intriguing and interesting history. AA History of Murston is a photographic guide through a century of change, revealing the true character of a community that has grown from a small agricultural parish into a burgeoning industrial area. Between 1845 and 1880, the industrial village of Lower Murston was built by entrepreneur George Smeed in a gradual conversion of ancient farmland into brickfi elds. By 1875, George Hambrook Dean, a farmer who married Smeed's eldest daughter, set up the Smeed Dean Company in partnership with his father-in-law, producing cement as well as bricks by 1900. But times changed and, in 1930, the parish of Murston, established in Saxon times, was disbanded and the community became a part of Sittingbourne. The village of Lower Murston was demolished in the 1960s and the inhabitants were re-housed in a new Murston estate leading off Tonge Road. Nowadays, houses are still being built and the town is expanding.
Main title:
A history of Murston / Bryan Clark.
Imprint:
Stroud : Amberley, 2011.
Collation:
157 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Notes:
Formerly CIP. UkIncludes bibliographical references.
ISBN:
9781848689985 (pbk)
Language:
English
BRN:
59558
0